Home and Garden Tour ticket includes admission to the following properties:
524 Fairfax Avenue – Tour Headquarters
The Martin Mansion, a 10,000 square foot, 21-room Georgian Revival built in 1909 by Alvah and Mary Martin has been home to the Woman’s Club of Norfolk since 1925. Mr Martin served on President William Taft’s Executive Committee and used his influence to secure the Port of Norfolk as the port of entry for Virginia. They built a house next door for their daughter, Faye, and husband, S.L. Slover, who raised their nephew, Frank Batten, co-founder of the Weather Channel and Landmark Media Enterprises. The new Slover Library is named for them. The Woman’s Club, founded by Virginia Gatewood in 1905, provides opportunities for spiritual and mental growth while serving the community. President Herbert Hoover once spoke at the club and in 1927 it hosted early classes for the Norfolk branch of William and Mary, now Old Dominion University. Today the Woman’s Club hosts meetings, weddings, and other events and is our 2017 Tour Headquarters.
300 Colonial Avenue
Michael Glennan, owner of Norfolk Virginian newspaper (later The Virginian Pilot), built this Georgian Style house in a block off The Hague in 1897 for $7,500. The Glennan home has had five owners, including Dr. Southgate Leigh of Leigh Memorial Hospital. In 2004 the Condes purchased the house and began an ongoing restoration project highlighting the original millwork, heart pine floors, plaster walls and historic details such as 1892 rococo style radiators with wood knobs, pocket doors, and plaster ceiling medallions. The Conde’s artwork includes local artists such as Charles Sibley and Charles Kello. Although remaining richly traditional with Federal-style mantels and Persian rugs, their eclectic style reflects their naval careers and travels. Mr. Conde’s collection of naval silver pieces dates back to the Spanish American War which coincidentally corresponds to the building of the house. Off the back porch is a Charleston-inspired courtyard with lush greenery, statuary, a small fountain, Chinese Umbrella trees and a wall of jasmine to delight visitors during garden week. Henry and Cindy Conde, owners.
524 Warren Crescent
Situated on a narrow curved street in the heart of this tree-lined neighborhood is a 3-story, 4700 square foot brick and limestone Italian Renaissance home built in 1901 for $12,000 by Ernest L. Woodard, a local wholesale grocery merchant. The semi-elliptical arches, emulating the curvature of the street, are in the style of Filippo Brunelleschi, the architect of the Florence Cathedral. The exterior features limestone pillars and a two-story Queen Anne turret leading to a third story balcony. Entering the home there is a raised inglenook featuring one of six fireplaces inviting family members to cuddle with a book. The front parlor is located in the turret with curved glass windows. Stained glass windows, pocket doors, columns, Jefferson doors and windows, and tiger oak floors are original to the first floor. The current owners have decorated their home with an eclectic collection of artwork showcasing modern local artists. Modern chandeliers and furnishings in this traditional home show how a young family can co-exist with the old. Joel and Katherine English, owners.
544 Pembroke Avenue
The Baird Family of Norfolk built this Georgian Revival house in 1910 a few steps off The Hague. It’s huge front porch welcomes guests to a home filled with the laughter of four children amidst collections of artwork and furniture. The front door enters into a huge front hall that extends the depth of the house and features intricate woodwork and detailed arches. The living room features two Niermann Weeks chairs complementing an 18th century French commode. The highlight of the dining room is the set of difficult to find original Klismos chairs. Artwork throughout the house includes local artists Charles Kello and Andy Mason. In the foyer is a Tom Barnes, noted for his women in hats, hanging opposite a 1950s French scene in Besancon where Mrs. Wynne once lived on a Rotary Scholarship. Of particular note is the billfish mounted in the den reminiscent of the Wynne’s first wedding anniversary. A woodland path to the left of the front porch opens up into a back yard garden with an expansive porch that is entered from the house through huge French doors. Brian and Anne Marie Wynne, Owners.
540 Pembroke Avenue
Rose Garden Only
As you leave the Wynne House you will enter a garden of American roses. These hybrid teas and shrub roses have filled this space since 1984 when Mr. Ingram first gave Mrs. Ingram roses for Mother’s Day. This began a tradition that continues today. Each year old rose bushes are replaced with new ones. The garden has grown to approximately 75 bushes and is usually in full bloom for Garden Week. Mrs. Ingram refers to her garden as a “cut and come” garden as she fills her home and shares with her friends the many scents and colors of her roses. Bill and Robin Ingram, Owners.
507 Pembroke Avenue
This 1891 English Arts and Crafts style home was the fourth house built in Ghent by a young couple, Fergus and Mary Reid. The three-story, seven bedroom, 7645 square foot marble residence, including their 1905 addition, features a Carrera marble fireplace in the parlor, an Empire-style chandelier in the dining room, a chevron-patterned oak floor and oak paneling in the smoking room, and oak paneling in the music room. The Reids employed a number of people to run their household including an English butler, a Swiss maid, a Swedish laundress, a parlor maid from Finland, and a French teacher. Fergus and Mary Reid loved to entertain and guests included President William Howard Taft, Andrew Carnegie, and Thea Musgrave who composed an opera in their music room in 1977. Today the house sits among dogwoods and azaleas with outdoor sitting areas inviting guests to enjoy quiet moments. The current owners have updated and renovated preserving the historic basis of their home. Thomas Robinson, Owner.
Christ and St. Luke’s Episcopal Church
560 W. Olney Road
Although the congregation dates back to the 1630s, this Gothic Revival English perpendicular cathedral opened its doors to its first worship service on Christmas Day,1910. The exterior is granite, the interior is Indiana limestone, and the carved work in the choir and sanctuaries is Caen stone quarried in Normandy. The nave is 150 feet long and 55 feet high and the tower rises130 feet. The stained glass windows include the Passion of Christ, twenty scenes from the Old Testament, and the nativity, early life, ministry and teachings of Jesus. Behind the main altar, carved from a single block of limestone, is a rendering of the Last Supper. Docents will be available for tours and flowers arranged by their flower guild.
Virginia Zoological Horticultural Center
3500 Granby Street
Located just one mile from this year’s garden tour the Virginia Zoo, a 53-acre home to animals living in native designed habitats, is also noted for its established historic southern magnolias, live oaks, and formal and abstract gardens. Dating back to the establishment of the zoo in 1901 horticulture has been an important partner supporting and showcasing exhibits and habitats with native, ornamental and exotic plants. Present theme gardens include fruit orchards, shade gardens, rain gardens, an African vegetable garden and a handicap accessible garden. The Horticultural Center includes a formal garden of roses, annuals, and perennials, and a green house of exotic plants. Complimentary admission, garden tours and refreshments are included with Norfolk’s HGW ticket on tour day.
Norfolk Botanical Garden
6700 Azalea Garden Road
In 1938 Frederic Heutte, a young horticulturalist, and Thomas Thompson, Norfolk City Manager, were given 150 acres to establish a city garden of azaleas. By 1941 the garden displayed nearly 5000 azaleas, 75 landscaped acres, and 5 miles of walking trails. In 1955 the Norfolk Azalea Gardens became host to the NATO Azalea Festival with queens representing NATO members. Today the 175 acre botanical garden is home to 52 themed gardens that can be viewed by tram, boat or foot. Gardens include cultivated and wild native and exotic plants in themed gardens such as a rose garden, butterfly garden, perennial garden, Japanese garden, and colonial herb garden. In April the azaleas will be blooming for garden tour and entry to the gardens on April 27 is included with your ticket.